Skip to content

What types of personal injury claims are seen in Texas?

Many types of accidents can result in personal injuries and those include, but again, are not limited to:

The two most important things to know about Texas personal injury law are the statute of limitations and how negligence plays a role in each case. Negligence is the basis of a personal injury lawsuit, and a companion principle also followed is comparative negligence (also called the shared-fault rule).

Comparative negligence is also called proportionate responsibility, meaning if a plaintiff is partially responsible for causing an injury to another, their share of awarded damages may be reduced.

It is also essential to know that Texas follows the 51-percent bar rule. That means if you are more than 51 percent at fault for an injury, you cannot collect any damages.

In Texas, the statute of limitations for personal injury cases is typically 2 years though there are many exceptions or even provisions requiring action in a much shorter time so contact a personal injury lawyer about your claim as soon as possible.

Other Personal Injury FAQs: