Yes. Texas law allows parents to sue a day care for neglect of a child.
Unfortunately, many kids suffer injuries while they are entrusted to care workers at day care. These injuries can occur from neglect, abuse or improper supervision of the children. Your rights and remedies often depend on the exact facts of your case.
Fortunately for those required to make claims, Texas law requires most day care operators to carry liability insurance that pays at least $300,000 per occurrence. However, there are some broad exceptions, including exceptions when a day care operator can’t purchase insurance for financial reasons or when the day care can’t find a company to underwrite its coverage. If you’re looking around at day cares, make sure to ask whether the day cares you are considering have insurance coverage.
YOU MAY ALSO LIKE
20 Years OF TRUST
For 20 years, our personal injury clients have trusted us to help get them the benefits they deserve.